Dina and Jikesh from Makwanpur get gold « News of Nepal

Hetaunda Dina Gopali and Jikesh Sapkota of Makwanpur have won gold medals in athletics 200 meters race under the second Bagmati State Games.

Makwanpur’s sprinter Dina won gold in the women’s category and Jikesh in the men’s category in the competition held at the Pipley-Campa Stadium in Hetaunda. Dina took 29.37 seconds and Jikesh 24.60 seconds to complete the said distance.

Among women, Swagata Khaitu of Bhaktapur and Rosita Gurung of Chitwan bagged silver and bronze medals respectively. Sujan Rai of Makwanpur and Shekhar Upreti of Chitwan won the bronze medal in Purushtarp. Razina Dulal of Lalitpur achieved success in women’s 800m race. She completed the race in 2 minutes and 40 seconds.

In this category, Astha Rai of Nuwakot won silver medal and Bhagwati Khadka of Ramechhap won bronze medal. Armat Bot from Chitwan was successful in this category. He completed the said distance in 2 minutes and 8 seconds. Sindhupalchok’s Tikaram Lopchan won silver and Nuwakot’s Dinesh Rai won bronze medals.

Migmar Singh of Sindhupalchok won the 5000 meter race. He covered the distance in 18 minutes and 9 seconds. Dharma Maharjan of Kathmandu and Vishwaram Kuwar of Sindhupalchok won silver and bronze medals respectively.

Ninu Tamang of Sindhupalchok also won the gold in the women’s category, finishing in 21 minutes and 8 seconds. Sonu Ghatane of Dolakha won silver and Rostina Sitikha of Bhaktapur won bronze. Pranisha Mahato of Chitwan won gold in women’s long jump. She jumped 4.83 meters.

Chitwan’s Aashika Gurung won silver and Dolakha’s Rosina Karki won bronze. Chitwan’s Sujith Kumar Mahato jumped 6.34 meters to win the gold medal in men’s long jump. Chitwan’s Sudeep Mahato won silver and Dolakha’s Sudeep Mizar won bronze.

In men’s shot put, Lalit Raut of Chitwan won the gold medal with a throw of 12.78 meters. Prachanda Dhungel of Ramechhap won the silver medal and Dipesh Mahato of Chitwan won the bronze medal. Chitwan’s Apsara Shrestha won gold in women’s shot put. She threw at 8.83 meters. Pramila Majhi of Sindhuli won silver and Anita Karki of Ramechhap won bronze.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles